Real Food Challenge

Just another WordPress.com site

Coconut Nursing Shake June 11, 2010

Filed under: Breastfeeding,Recipes — fitnesssource @ 12:34 am

This is a great recipe for a nursing mom! The coconut adds lots of lauric acid, a nutrient essential for baby! Lauric acid is an antimicrobial, antifungal, and antiviral agent. Nursing babies will consume up to one gram of lauric acid per kilogram of bodyweight per day. The goat milk adds protein in an easily digestible form and the flax seed adds omega 3 fatty acids.

Coconut Nursing Shake

1/2 c. Coconut milk kefir
1/2 c. Goat milk
1 T ground flax seeds
1 T coconut oil
1 T coconut creme (not cream of coconut)
1 banana
5 ice cubes
5-8 drops vanilla creme liquid stevia
1 T raw creme fraiche (cream would work as well)

Place all ingredients in blender. Blend well.

This post has been linked to URS at Life as Mom

This post has been linked to Fight Back Friday at Food Renegade

This post has been linked to Vegetarian Foodie Fridays.

 

7 Responses to “Coconut Nursing Shake”

  1. Melodie Says:

    I don’t usually beg for people to join my carnival but since I have a breastfeeding blog AND do a weekly vegetarian foodie carnival could you please link this up with me? I promise you’ll get some traffic. I just think this is so great. Wonderful information for breastfeeding mamas!

  2. Bethany Says:

    This shake sounds so yummy! I am currently nursing and will definitely be trying this, but even if I wasn’t I think this would be on the list of recipes to make this week! Thanks!

  3. This recipe is right up my ally! Can’t wait to try it. My coconut baby loves to eat anything coconut, especially coconut butter (aka coconut cream concentrate).

  4. That sounds great! I recently tried putting coconut oil in my smoothie, and it got really hard! I know that it is probably because I was using frozen berries, since coconut oil hardens below about 76 degrees (or something like that) . Do you have any tips for stopping the coconut oil from solidifying in your smoothie/shakes?

    Can’t wait to try your recipe.

    • Stacy, coconut oil can be tricky in smoothies. There are two things I found that really help. First, put the coconut oil in the blender first so it is closest to the blades. Second, let the smoothie blend for longer than you think it needs. This will allow the coconut oil to break down into almost invisible pieces. As an added bonus the extra blending time incorporates more air into the shake making you feel more full after drinking it! Let me know how it works for you.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.